Journey Name: Sanyo Shinkansen: Osaka - Fukuoka (Hakata Station) on the island of Kyushu  |  Journey Duration: Scenic Day Trips
The Sanyo Shinkansen  line connects Shin-Osaka in Osaka with Hakata Station in Fukuoka, the two largest cities in western Japan. Operated by the West Japan Railway Company (JR West), it is a westward continuation of the Tokaido Shinkansen and also serves other major cities in between on Honshu and Kyushu islands such as Kobe, Himeji, Okayama, Hiroshima, and Kitakyushu. The Sanyo Shinkansen connects Hakata with Osaka in two-and-a-half hours, with trains operating at maximum operating speed of 300 km/h. Some Nozomi trains operate continuously on Sanyo and Tokaido Shinkansen lines, connecting Tokyo and Hakata in five hours.
Train Departure Schedule :
January - March
April - June
July - September
October - December
Journey Dates :
Places Covered:
Shin-Osaka, Fukuoka ( Hakata)
Day to Day Itinerary:
Five train categories operate on the Sanyo Shinkansen:
The Nozomi serves only major stations along the Sanyo Shinkansen, and typically takes 2.5 hours to reach Hakata from Shin-Osaka. There are usually three departures per hour (two between Shin-Osaka and Hakata and one between Shin-Osaka and Hiroshima) and more during peak hours. Most Nozomi trains provide through service to the Tokaido Shinkansen to/from Tokyo. The Nozomi trains cannot be used with the Japan Rail Pass. However, it is covered by the JR West Sanyo Pass.

There are two types of Hikari trains operating along the Sanyo Shinkansen:
8-car Hikari Railstar trains operate between Shin-Osaka and Hakata. Serving one or two stations more than the Nozomi, they are only slightly slower than Nozomi trains. The Hikari Railstar has no Green Car, but its reserved seats come in rows of 2x2 seats and are as comfortable as Green Car seats. Hikari Railstar trains are expected to be entirely replaced by Sakura trains in the near future.
One 16-car Hikari train from Tokyo continues along the Sanyo Shinkansen as far as Okayama each hour, serving all stations between Shin-Osaka and Okayama
The Kodama is the slowest train category along the Sanyo Shinkansen, stopping at all stations along the way and takes almost 5 hours to reach Hakata from Shin-Osaka. Train sets of six or eight cars are employed as Kodama trains along the Sanyo Shinkansen. They do not carry Green Cars.

The Mizuho is the fastest train category along the Sanyo Shinkansen and provides a through service to the Kyushu Shinkansen to/from Kagoshima. However, currently there are only four round trips per day in the mornings and evenings. Together with the Nozomi, the Mizuho cannot be used with the Japan Rail Pass. However, it is covered by the JR West Sanyo Pass.

Like the Mizuho, the Sakura operates between Shin-Osaka and Kagoshima-Chuo Station on the Kyushu Shinkansen, but stops at a few more stations than the Mizuho. Green car seats make up only half of car number 6, while reserved seating comes in rows of 2x2 seats that are almost as comfortable as the Green Car seats. Non-reserved seats come in rows of 3x2 seats.

Please check with us. 
Rail Fare only.
Route Map
  • A unique experience of travelling in one of the worlds’ fastest trains.
  • Cost Effective way of travelling in Japan
  • Can be used as part of the Japan Rail Pass
  • Fast, Punctual, Comfortable, Spacious and Efficient
  • Similar to flying within Japan, but with the advantage that you start and end right in the middle of the city